Women's Premier League 2024: Mumbai Indians Women SWOT Analysis and Schedule

Stay updated on the Women's Premier League 2024 with a detailed SWOT analysis of the Mumbai Indians Women team and their schedule. Get insights into their strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats as they compete in the league.

By TheFrames Team
New Update

Mumbai Indians Women clinch the WPL 2023 Title

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

Mumbai Indians, the winners of the inaugural edition of the Women's Premier League in 2023, are ready to continue their dominance in the upcoming WPL 2024. Led by captain Harmanpreet Kaur, the team boasts a talented lineup including the 'Most Valuable Player' and 'Purple Cap' recipient Hayley Matthews, as well as the 'Emerging Player of the Season' Yastika Bhatia. With a strong core of retained players and a few spots to fill in the upcoming auction, Mumbai Indians are well-positioned to challenge any team in the tournament.


Retained and Released Players

Ahead of the WPL 2024 edition, Mumbai Indians made strategic decisions regarding their squad. They retained 13 players and released 4. The retained players include Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr, Chloe Tryon, Harmanpreet Kaur, Hayley Matthews, Humairaa Kaazi, Isabelle Wong, Jintimani Kalita, Natalie Sciver-Brunt, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Saika Ishaque, and Yastika Bhatia. On the other hand, the released players are Dhara Gujjar, Heather Graham, Neelam Bisht, and Sonam Yadav.

Also Read Mumbai Indians Women's Ideal Playing XI

Mumbai Indians Women Full Squad


Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr, Chloe Tryon, Harmanpreet Kaur, Hayley Matthews, Humairaa Kaazi, Isabelle Wong, Jintimani Kalita, Natalie Sciver, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Saika Ishaque, Yastika Bhatia, Shabnim Ismail, S Sajana, Amandeep Kaur, Fatima Jaffer, Keerthana Balakrishnan


Mumbai Indians possess a well-balanced team with a mix of experienced campaigners, young talents, and talented domestic players. The presence of international stars like Hayley Matthews, Amelia Kerr, Natalie Sciver-Brunt, Isabelle Wong, and Chloe Tryon adds depth and quality to the team. These players have consistently performed at the international level and will contribute significantly to the team's success in WPL 2024.


The Indian contingent of Harmanpreet Kaur, Yastika Bhatia, Pooja Vastrakar, and Amanjot Kaur, along with domestic players like Humairaa Kaazi, Jintimani Kalita, Priyanka Bala, and Saika Ishaque, further strengthens the team. The Mumbai Indians have covered all bases with their squad, making them a formidable force in the tournament.


While the Mumbai Indians have a strong batting and bowling attack, one area that requires attention is their pace bowling department. The team heavily relies on Issy Wong, with support from Pooja Vastrakar, Jintamani Kalita, and Amanjot Kaur. However, the release of Heather Graham leaves a void, and the team will need to find additional firepower to bolster their pace bowling department.



The Mumbai Indians enter WPL 2024 with confidence, having performed brilliantly in the previous season. They have a golden opportunity to win back-to-back titles and establish themselves as the dominant team in the tournament. Captain Harmanpreet Kaur will aim to lead her team to glory, while the domestic players will have the perfect platform to shine and learn from experienced international stars.



One potential threat to the Mumbai Indians' success is overdependence on their top-flight players. Injuries can also pose a risk to the team's prospects, so managing player fitness throughout the tournament will be crucial. Striking the right balance and finding the perfect mix of players through the auctions, while ensuring the reserves are match-ready, will be of paramount importance for the team.

Schedule for the Mumbai Indians Women's Team in WPL 2024

Here is the schedule for the Mumbai Indians women's team in the WPL 2024:

Date Match Venue
February 23 Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals M Chinnaswamy Stadium
February 25 Gujarat Giants vs Mumbai Indians M Chinnaswamy Stadium
February 28 Mumbai Indians vs UP Warriorz M Chinnaswamy Stadium
March 2 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians M Chinnaswamy Stadium
March 5 Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians Arun Jaitley Stadium
March 7 UP Warriorz vs Mumbai Indians Arun Jaitley Stadium
March 9 Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat Giants Arun Jaitley Stadium
March 12 Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Arun Jaitley Stadium


Mumbai Indians, the reigning champions of the Women's Premier League, are geared up for WPL 2024. With a strong retained squad and strategic decisions to be made in the upcoming auction, the team is well-equipped to maintain their dominance. By addressing key areas and further strengthening their lineup, the Mumbai Indians will aim to secure back-to-back titles and establish themselves as the undisputed force in women's cricket.

Latest Stories