Suryakumar Yadav Leads Men's ICC T20I Team of the Year

Suryakumar Yadav, the talented Indian cricketer, has been selected as the leader of the ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year. Learn more about his impressive achievements and contributions to the sport.

By Mystic Vivan
New Update
ICC T20I Team of the Year

In a remarkable achievement, Suryakumar Yadav has been appointed as the captain of the men's ICC T20I Team of the Year for the 2023 season. Leading a star-studded lineup, Yadav's exceptional performances have earned him this prestigious recognition.


Suryakumar Yadav: The Explosive Batsman

Suryakumar Yadav, popularly known as SKY, has been a consistent performer and a force to be reckoned with in the T20I format. Retaining his position as the top-ranked batsman in the ICC Men's T20I batting rankings from the previous year, Yadav has showcased his skills and leadership on multiple occasions.

A Remarkable 2023 Season


Yadav's 2023 season started with a score of seven against Sri Lanka, followed by impressive innings of 51 (36) and 112* (51) in the next two T20Is. Throughout the season, he demonstrated his consistency by regularly scoring in the 20s to 40s for India. Notably, Yadav smashed half-centuries against Australia (80 off 42 balls) and South Africa (56 from 36 balls).

Yadav's Standout Performance

The highlight of Yadav's season came in the final T20I in Johannesburg, where he achieved a stunning century off just 56 balls against South Africa. This remarkable innings showcased his ability to dominate the opposition and solidify his position as one of the top batsmen in the T20I format.


The Rising Star: Yashasvi Jaiswal

Joining Yadav in the batting lineup of the ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year is the rising star, Yashasvi Jaiswal. Jaiswal, a young Indian opener, made his debut against the West Indies in August and immediately showcased his talent. In the 2023 season, he scored an impressive 430 runs in 14 innings, with a strike rate of 159.

Exceptional Spin Skills: Ravi Bishnoi


Adding depth to the team's bowling department is spinner Ravi Bishnoi. Known for his exceptional spin skills, Bishnoi secured the top spot in the ICC T20 Bowling Rankings. Throughout the season, he proved his worth by taking wickets consistently, especially against Australia, earning him the Player of the Series title.

Prowess in Pace: Arshdeep Singh

Completing the quartet of Indian players in the ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year is pacer Arshdeep Singh. Singh has shown great prowess with his pace, bagging 26 wickets in 21 T20Is for India. His ability to consistently trouble batsmen and contribute to the team's success has earned him a well-deserved spot in the lineup.


The Complete ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year

Here is the complete lineup of the ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year for the 2023 season:

Position Player
Captain Suryakumar Yadav
Opener Yashasvi Jaiswal
Batsman Phil Salt
Batsman Nicholas Pooran
Batsman Mark Chapman
All-rounder Sikandar Raza
Wicketkeeper Alpesh Ramjani
Bowler Mark Adair
Bowler Ravi Bishnoi
Bowler Richard Ngarava
Bowler Arshdeep Singh


Suryakumar Yadav's exceptional leadership and consistent performances have led him to be appointed as the captain of the ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year for the 2023 season. Alongside him, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Phil Salt, Nicholas Pooran, Mark Chapman, Sikandar Raza, Alpesh Ramjani, Mark Adair, Ravi Bishnoi, Richard Ngarava, and Arshdeep Singh complete the star-studded lineup. This recognition highlights the talent and skill of these players and their significant contributions to the T20I format.

Latest Stories