IPL 2024 CSK VS RCB Match Highlights: CSK wins by six wickets in hand

Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bengaluru will begin their IPL season on 22nd March against each other at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. Both the teams are looking for a winning start to a campaign.

By Samir Hussain
New Update
Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bengaluru.png

Chennai Super Kings Vs Royal Challengers Bengaluru

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

Let's get ready for the stunning cricketing season of the year as IPL 2024 begins on March 22, sparkling cricket stadiums all across India with joy and excitement. With a lineup of top 10 teams, including the last seasons finalists Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Titans alongside other teams like Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings, Mumbai Indians, etc. Now fasten your belts for 74 enthralling matches filled with action. The IPL 2024 season promises an exciting competition between teams, with each team playing 14 matches in the season. 


As the tournament progresses, the top two teams will secure their positions in the first Qualifier, while the others teams will fight for a chance through an Eliminator match. The playoffs follow the familiar structure, culminating in a thrilling final where champions will be crowned. Stay tuned to with us for immediate updates on the official IPL 2024 season. Don't miss any moment of the action of the game and immerse yourself in the excitement  and joy of cricket's grandest event.

The  IPL season-2024 will start with a blockbuster encounter between defending champions of season-2023 Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on March 22. The first match of the season 2024 will be played at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai and will begin at sharp 7:30 p.m. IST.

CSK VS RCB Match Highlights


1st Inning (RCB)

  • RCB Capitan Faf du Plessis won the toss and decided to bat first at in the IPL 2024 opener match.
  • The RBC skipper Faf du Plessis gave a great opening by scoring 35 runs on 23 balls with 8 boundaries and a strike rate of 152 but was out by Mustafizur Rahman.
  • Rajat Patidar and Maxwell couldn't even open the account and returned to the pavilion by Mustafizur Rahman and Deepak Chahar respectively.
  • Virat could only score 21 runs on 20 balls with 1 six and was sent back to the dressing room by Mustafizur Rahman.
  • Green scored 18 run on board in 22 balls by 4 boundaries and 3 sixes and was bowled by Mustafizur Rahman.
  • Rawat scored 48 runs from 25 balls.
  • Mustafizur Rahman was the most efficient blower for CSK grabbing 4 wickets by giving 29 runs in 4 overs.
  • Deepak Chahar also booked the 1 wicket of Maxwell, by giving 37 runs in 4 overs.

2nd Inning (CSK)

  • CSK skipper R.Gaikwad scored 15 run in 15 balls and out by Yash Dayal and Rachin Ravindra scoring 37 runs in 15 balls with strike rate of 247 was sent back to dressing room by Karn Sharma. 
  • Ajinkya Rahane scored 27 out of balls 19 was made out by Cameron Green.
  • Daryl Mitchell scored 22 out of balls 18 was made out by Cameron Green.
  • Shivam Dube scored 34 out of balls 28. 
  • Ravindra Jadeja scored 25 out of balls 17.

Pitch report

The MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai has hosted 75 IPL matches since, IPL's first season.
The stadium is famous for its sporting pitch, which has something for both the batsmen and the bowlers. The pitch is generally dry and provides good grip for spinners. As the match heads it tends to slow down a little, which makes stroke playing difficult for the batsman in the second innings. 


In the past records, the team batting first has won 44 matches while the chasing side has won only  29 matches. Two matches have also been tied.

The strike rate also goes down in the second innings from 136.3 to 129.4. Hence most of the teams always choose to bat first after winning the toss. 

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) hold the record for the highest score on the ground as it's their home ground they have put up 246/5 on the board against Rajasthan Royals (RR) in 2010.
Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) were the least scorer of 70 on March 23, 2019, after a spatulas bowling shown by the blowers of CSK.


Head-to-Head Stats

Royal Challengers Bengaluru is fully filled with motivation and inspiration that have being added recently by the title win this year in the historic WPL 2024 title win by Smriti Mandhana’s RCB.

In the past 31 matches that both the teams have faced against each other played in the IPL, CSK has booked 20 wins of them, with RCB managing only 10 wins. 


In the past last match, in IPL 2023, CSK brutally kicked off RCB by eight wickets at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. RCB, has a solid batting unit, but the bowling unit has always been a concern for the RBC.

Playing X1

CSKRuturaj Gaikwad (c), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, MS Dhoni (WK), Shivam Dube, Sameer Rizvi, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar,  Mustafizur Rahman, Matheesha Pathirana, Tushar Deshpande.


RCB: Faf du Plessis (c), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Dinesh Karthik, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Anuj Rawat (WK), Mohammed Siraj, Karn Sharma, Alzarri Joseph, Mayank Dagar, Mohammed Siraj, Yash Dayal

Dream11 Team

Faf du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shivam Dube (c), Virat Kohli, Daryl Mitchell, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Glenn Maxwell,  Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj, Mustafizur Rahman.

Latest Stories