India vs Ireland 1st T20I Match Highlights: IND won by 2 runs following DLS Method due to rain

During the match, Ireland had the opportunity to bat first after losing the toss. Bumrah was able to secure two wickets early on. Despite rain affecting the game, India managed to win by a narrow margin of 2 runs using the DLS Method.

By Crickified
New Update

India vs Ireland 1st T20I Match at The Village Ground, Malahide

  IND vs IRE 1st T20I Match
 IIND won by 2 runs (DLS Method)
I IRE   139/7 (20)
 IIND   47/2 (6.5)
  Venue   The Village Ground, Malahide, Dublin
  Date & Time   Fri, Aug 18, 7:30 PM IST
  Toss   IND opt to bowl
  Player of the Match   Jasprit Bumrah

The much-awaited 1st T20I match between India and Ireland is all set to commence on August 18th at the picturesque Malahide Cricket Club Ground in Dublin. This captivating series holds immense excitement as it brings together two formidable cricket teams - India and Ireland - who will engage in a thrilling display of skill and tactics. With both sides aiming to refine their game ahead of future tournaments, this series guarantees an enthralling spectacle for cricket enthusiasts across the globe.

India vs West Indies 1st T20 Match Highlights
Jasprit Bumrah made a remarkable comeback in international cricket. Although he conceded a boundary on the first delivery he bowled, Bumrah managed to take a wicket on the second ball. He followed it up with another dismissal on the fifth ball. In the initial 10 overs, India utilized six different bowlers and completely dominated this phase of the game. Ireland's batting line-up crumbled, leaving them at 59/6. However, Barry McCarthy and Curtis Campher showcased resilience for the hosts by initiating a fightback. The duo formed a partnership of 57 runs off just 44 deliveries for the seventh wicket until Campher got dismissed after scoring an impressive 39 runs from 33 balls. McCarthy continued to attack with aggression, finishing off Ireland's innings with a six and remaining unbeaten on an outstanding knock of 51 runs from only 33 balls faced. Consequently, Ireland set India a target of chasing down 140 runs to win. Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ruturaj Gaikwad provided India with an explosive start as they swiftly accumulated runs in their pursuit of victory over their opponents' total scorecard. Unfortunately for both teams though, rain interrupted play immediately after one over following powerplay period conclusion resulting in match abandonment due to unfavorable weather conditions. At that point when players left field due to rain intervention in play interruption momentarily ,India were ahead by two runs which means that due to adverse climate conditions tourists have taken lead 1-0.

India vs West Indies 1st T20 Match Date and Venue
India and Ireland are set to clash in the inaugural T20I match on Friday, August 18th, 2023. The much-anticipated game will be held at The Village Ground in Malahide, Dublin.

The Village Ground in Malahide, Dublin Pitch Report
Malahide Cricket Club Ground, located in Ireland, is the largest cricket ground in the country, boasting a seating capacity of 11,500. This renowned venue has hosted a total of 17 T20 international games thus far. Notably, two of these matches featured intense battles between India and Ireland. During their visit to Malahide in 2018, Virat Kohli's team emerged victorious in both encounters by significant margins. Dublin's pitch at The Village is known for its favorable conditions for batting. On average, teams tend to score around 165 runs during the first innings here. Out of the 17 T20Is played at this venue so far, an impressive number of 15 matches concluded with decisive outcomes; however, two games had to be abandoned due to rain. Interestingly enough, out of those games where a result was reached either through completion or abandonment due to weather conditions; teams batting first emerged victorious on seven occasions while teams chasing successfully chased down their targets eight times. Considering the nature of the surface at The Village Dublin cricket ground and its history supporting spin bowlers can be expected to play a crucial role during matches held here.


India vs Ireland T20I's Head-to-Head Record
India and Ireland have competed against each other in a total of five T20 matches. In these five games, India has emerged as the victor in all of them, while Ireland has yet to claim a single victory.

India vs Ireland 1st T20 Match Time and Toss
The game is scheduled to commence at 7:30 PM IST. The toss, which will determine the team that gets to bat or bowl first, will occur 30 minutes before the match begins, at 7:00 PM IST.

Team India's T20I Squad
Jasprit Bumrah has been appointed as the captain of a vibrant and skilled Indian team that will be touring Ireland. The squad comprises promising young players such as Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, and Yashasvi Jaiswal. These players are eager to leave their mark on the global stage of cricket. Additionally, this series signifies the debut call-ups for Rinku Singh and Jitesh Sharma, offering them a chance to display their abilities and vie for a permanent position in the national team.


India T20I squad: Jasprit Bumrah(c), Ruturaj Gaikwad(vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson(wk), Shivam Dube, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Washington Sundar, Arshdeep Singh, Ravi Bishnoi

Bench: Jitesh Sharma(wk), Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Shahbaz Ahmed

Support Staff: Rahul Dravid (head coach), Vikram Rathour (batting coach), Paras Mhambrey (bowling coach), T Dilip (fielding coach)


Ireland T20I Squad
Ireland, under the guidance of Paul Stirling, is determined to pose a challenge to the formidable Indian team and assert their strength before the T20 World Cup. The Irish team comprises a mix of seasoned players and talented young individuals such as Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, and Harry Tector. Having recently secured their spot in the T20 World Cup, Ireland is eager to put their abilities to the test against India, a worthy adversary.

Ireland T20I squad: Paul Stirling (c), Lorcan Tucker (wk), Mark Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Harry Tector, Ben White, Craig Young

Bench: Gareth Delany, Fionn Hand, Theo Van Woerkom, Ross Adair


Support Staff: Heinrich Malan (head coach), Gary Wilson (batting and wicketkeeping coach), Ryan Eagleson (pace bowling coach), Nathan Hauritz (spin bowling coach)

India vs Ireland 1st T20 Match Live Streaming Channels
Catch all the live action of India's tour of Ireland on the Sports 18 network for cricket fans. Jio Cinema will offer live streaming of the matches for digital viewers. Expect extensive coverage and expert analysis to enhance your viewing experience.

The upcoming tour of Ireland by India is set to be a riveting encounter between two cricketing nations, as both teams are determined to leave their mark before the T20 World Cup. With the first match scheduled for August 18th, fans are eagerly awaiting the action and the anticipation is mounting. Brace yourself for an extravagant display of cricket, featuring exhilarating moments, exceptional skills, and unforgettable displays of talent.

Latest Stories