Kohli included, Rohit to Lead, Ishan to miss the India squad for Afghanistan T20I series

In the India squad for the Afghanistan T20I series, Rohit Sharma has been named as the captain with Virat Kohli included. However, Ishan Kishan will not be part of the squad. Get all the details and updates here.

By Crickified Mohit
New Update

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli has been included in the T20I series squad against Afghanistan

India's upcoming T20 International series against Afghanistan is set to kick off on January 11 at the Punjab Cricket Association in Mohali. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recently announced the squad for this highly anticipated series, with Rohit Sharma taking on the role of captain. While regular skipper Virat Kohli will be part of the team, Jaspreet Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj have been given a well-deserved rest. In this article, we will take a closer look at the India squad, the venues for the matches, and the key players to watch out for.


India Squad for Afghanistan T20I Series

Here is the complete squad for the upcoming T20I series:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar


Match Schedule and Venues

The India vs Afghanistan T20I series is scheduled to take place from January 11th to January 17th, 2024. The three-match series will be held in three different venues across India. The first match is set to be played in Mohali, followed by the second match in Indore, and the final match in Bengaluru. These venues have witnessed some thrilling encounters in the past, and fans can expect nothing less this time around.

  Match   Date & Time (IST)   Venue
  1st T20I   11th Jan, 07:00 PM   Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra
  Stadium, Mohali
  2nd T20I   14th Jan, 07:00 PM   Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore
  3rd T20I   17th Jan, 07:00 PM   M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Rohit Sharma's T20I Captaincy

Rohit Sharma's appointment as the captain of the Indian T20I team is a testament to his exceptional leadership skills and prowess on the field. Known for his aggressive batting style and astute decision-making, Rohit Sharma has proven himself as an influential leader in the Indian Premier League (IPL) as the captain of the Mumbai Indians. Under his captaincy, the Mumbai Indians have won the IPL title a record-breaking five times. The Indian cricket team will be looking forward to harnessing Rohit Sharma's captaincy skills and experience to achieve success in the upcoming T20I series.

Virat Kohli's T20I Comeback

Virat Kohli, hailed as one of the best batsmen in the world, will be making his comeback in the T20I format after a break since the T20 World Cup 2022. Known for his exceptional batting technique and ability to chase down formidable targets, Kohli's return is eagerly awaited by fans and cricket pundits alike. His presence in the Indian team adds depth and stability to the batting lineup, making India a formidable force in the T20I series against Afghanistan.

Also Read Ishan Kishan Left Out for India Squad against Afghanistan T20I Series

The Pace Bowling Unit

The pace bowling unit for the T20I series against Afghanistan will see some notable changes. Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and Mohammed Shami have been given a well-deserved rest, providing an opportunity for other talented bowlers to showcase their skills. Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, and Mukesh Kumar will lead the Indian pace attack. These young pacers have impressed in domestic cricket and will be looking to make a mark on the international stage.

The Seam-Bowling All-Rounder

Hardik Pandya's absence due to injury has created a void in the seam-bowling all-rounder position. In his absence, Shivam Dube has been named as the seam-bowling all-rounder in the squad. Although Dube hasn't bowled much recently, his hard-hitting batting skills and ability to contribute with the ball make him a valuable asset to the team. His recent performances for the Chennai Super Kings in the IPL have been impressive, and he will be eager to make a strong impact in the T20I series against Afghanistan.

The Wicketkeeper-Batters

The selection of wicketkeeper-batters in the squad has raised a few eyebrows. Sanju Samson, who missed out on the squad for the Australia and South Africa T20Is, has made a comeback. Jitesh Sharma, a relatively new face in the Indian cricket scene, has also been included as a wicketkeeper-batter. However, the exclusion of KL Rahul, who has been in great form, has surprised many. The selectors have opted for Jitesh Sharma over Ishan Kishan.

The T20 World Cup 2024

The upcoming T20I series against Afghanistan holds immense significance as it serves as a crucial preparation for the T20 World Cup 2024. With the tournament scheduled to begin on June 1 in Dallas, Texas, the Indian team will be aiming to fine-tune their skills and strategies. The return of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, along with the inclusion of promising youngsters, provides the Indian team with a perfect opportunity to evaluate their options and build a winning combination.

Key Players to Watch Out For

  1. Rohit Sharma: As the captain of the team, Rohit Sharma will be a key figure in leading India's charge against Afghanistan. Known for his explosive batting and tactical acumen, he will aim to set the tone for the team and provide a solid foundation at the top of the order.

  2. Virat Kohli: Despite Rohit Sharma taking on the captaincy, Virat Kohli's presence in the squad adds immense value. One of the world's best batsmen, Kohli's ability to chase down targets and anchor the innings will be crucial in ensuring India's success.

  3. Shubman Gill: A promising young talent, Shubman Gill has been making waves in domestic and international cricket. With his elegant stroke play and solid technique, he has the potential to make a significant impact in the series.


The India-Afghanistan T20I series promises to be an exciting contest between two talented teams. With Rohit Sharma leading the Indian side and a strong squad at their disposal, India will be looking to continue their winning streak. The young guns like Shubman Gill and Ravi Bishnoi will have the opportunity to showcase their skills alongside experienced campaigners like Virat Kohli and Kuldeep Yadav. Cricket fans around the world eagerly await this series, hoping for thrilling matches and memorable performances.

Latest Stories