ICC World Test Championship 2023-25: Standings, Points Table, and Format

Get all the latest updates on ICC World Test Championship 2023-25, including standings, points table, and the format of the tournament. Stay updated on the most prestigious competition in test cricket.

By Mystic Vivan
New Update

ICC World Test Championship (WTC 2023-25) (Image Credits:

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

The ICC World Test Championship (WTC) is an exciting tournament that brings together the top cricketing nations to compete for the ultimate prize in Test cricket. The third edition of the ICC WTC is scheduled to begin with the highly anticipated Ashes series between England and Australia on June 16, 2023. The WTC Final 2025 will be held at Lord's in London in June 2025.


ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 Points Table

Here is the points table for the third edition of the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25:

Position Team Matches Won Lost Drawn NR Points PCT
1 Australia 10 6 3 1 0 66 55.00%
2 India 6 3 2 1 0 38 55.27%
3 South Africa 2 1 1 0 0 12 50%
4 New Zealand 2 1 1 0 0 12 50%
5 Bangladesh 2 1 1 0 0 12 50%
6 Pakistan 5 2 3 0 0 22 36.66%
7 West Indies 4 1 2 1 0 16 33.33%
8 England 7 3 3 1 0 21 25%
9 Sri Lanka 2 0 2 0 0 0 0.0%

ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 Points System

The points system for the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 is designed to reward teams for their performance in each match. Here is the breakdown of the points distribution:


WTC 2023-25 Points Distribution

  Points Available per Match   Percentage of Points
  Win   12 100
  Tie   6 50
  Draw   4 33.33
  Loss   0 0

Teams will be ranked based on the percentage of points won. This system allows for a fair comparison of team performance throughout the championship.


Points Available per Series

The total points available per series depend on the number of matches played. The following table shows the points available for each series:

Match in Series Total Points Available
2 24
3 36
4 48
5 60


Teams need to perform consistently and aim to win as many matches as possible to secure a higher position in the points table.

Format of ICC World Test Championship 2023-25


The ICC World Test Championship is played over a two-year cycle, providing an opportunity for teams to showcase their skills in the longest format of the game. The format for the 2023-25 edition includes the following key features:

  • Number of series: Each team will play a total of six WTC series - three at home and three away. This ensures a balanced schedule for all participating teams.
  • Points system: The revised points system for the 2023-25 edition awards equal points for each Test match. This eliminates any advantage or disadvantage caused by the length of the series. A win in a Test match will earn a team 12 points, while a tie will result in 6 points and a draw will earn 4 points.
  • Determination of standings: The standings in the championship will be determined based on the percentage of points won by each team. This approach takes into account the varying number of matches played by teams and ensures a fair assessment of performance.
  • Impact of canceled matches or series: The points table is designed to accommodate the cancellation of any matches or series. The relative performance of teams can still be compared at any point in time, and the points table remains unaffected.

The ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 promises to be an enthralling tournament, with teams battling it out for the top spot in Test cricket. As the championship progresses, cricket fans around the world will eagerly follow the standings and the thrilling encounters between the best teams in the world.

Latest Stories