ICC Test Team of the Year 2023: A Stellar Lineup

The ICC Test Team of the Year for 2023 features a stellar lineup of top cricketers from around the world. Learn more about the players who have made it to the prestigious team and their exceptional performances in test cricket.

By Mystic Vivan
New Update
ICC Test Team of the Year 2023

The ICC Test Team of the Year for 2023 has been announced, and it features some of the finest cricket talents from around the globe. Led by the exceptional Australian fast bowler Pat Cummins, the team comprises five Australian players, including opening batter Usman Khawaja, middle-order batsman Travis Head, wicketkeeper Alex Carey, and pace spearhead Mitchell Starc. Notably, Cummins had a remarkable year, guiding his team to victory in the World Test Championship and successfully retaining the Ashes.


The Australian Dominance

Australia's dominance in the ICC Test Team of the Year 2023 is evident with five players making the cut. Usman Khawaja, who had a prolific year, has been selected for the second consecutive year. Khawaja scored an impressive 1,210 runs at an average of 52.60, including six centuries and six fifties. Travis Head, who also found a place in the ODI team of the year, showcased his batting prowess by amassing over 900 runs, which included a magnificent 163 against India in the WTC final at The Oval. Mitchell Starc, known for his lethal pace and swing, had a mixed year but managed to claim 38 wickets at an average of 29.63.

The Indian Duo


While Australia dominated the team, two Indian players, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, made their mark in the ICC Test Team of the Year 2023. Ashwin, known for his exceptional spin bowling and all-round skills, finished as the third-highest wicket-taker with 41 wickets at an impressive average of 17.02. Jadeja, a versatile cricketer, showcased his ability to contribute with both bat and ball, taking 33 wickets from seven Tests at an average of 19.39.

Notable Inclusions

Apart from the Australian and Indian players, there were a few other notable inclusions in the ICC Test Team of the Year 2023. Sri Lanka's Dimuth Karunaratne, the stylish opening batsman, had a fantastic year, accumulating over 600 runs in just ten innings. His impressive performances included two centuries and three half-centuries. Stuart Broad, the experienced English seamer, bid farewell to international cricket after the Ashes series but left a lasting impact with 28 wickets at an average of 26.28.


The Consistent Performers

Joe Root and Kane Williamson, two consistent performers in the cricketing world, rightfully earned their spots in the ICC Test Team of the Year 2023. Joe Root, the English captain, showcased his batting prowess throughout the year, contributing significantly with the bat. On the other hand, Kane Williamson, the New Zealand skipper, proved his mettle as one of the world's best Test batsmen.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2023


Here is the complete lineup of the ICC Test Team of the Year 2023:

Position Player Country
Opening Usman Khawaja AUS
Opening Dimuth Karunaratne SL
Middle Order Kane Williamson NZ
Middle Order Joe Root ENG
Middle Order Travis Head AUS
All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja IND
Wicketkeeper Alex Carey AUS
Captain Pat Cummins AUS
Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin IND
Pace Bowler Mitchell Starc AUS
Pace Bowler Stuart Broad ENG


The ICC Test Team of the Year 2023 showcases the exceptional talent and performances that epitomize the highest level of cricket. Led by Pat Cummins, the team features a blend of Australian dominance, Indian flair, and consistent performers from around the world. The inclusion of players like Usman Khawaja, Kane Williamson, Joe Root, Ravindra Jadeja, and others reflects their outstanding contributions to the game. Congratulations to all the players who made it to the prestigious ICC Test Team of the Year 2023, and may they continue to entertain cricket fans with their remarkable skills and passion for the game.

Latest Stories