The Exciting Changes in the 2024 T20 World Cup: West Indies and USA to Host the Matches

Exciting changes are in store for the 2024 T20 World Cup as the matches are set to be co-hosted by West Indies and USA. This article explores the significance of this development and what it means for cricket fans worldwide.

New Update

The Exciting Changes in the 2024 T20 World Cup

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is set to undergo exciting changes in its 2024 edition, with a new format and a new location. This global cricket tournament, known for its thrilling matches and historic moments, promises to be even more captivating with the inclusion of more teams and a revamped structure. In this article, we will explore the details of the new format, the teams that have already qualified, and the regional qualifiers that will determine the remaining spots. Let's dive into the exciting world of the 2024 T20 World Cup!


The New Format: Two Phases and Super Eights

The 2024 edition of the T20 World Cup will feature a unique format that differs from the First Round/Super 12 format of the previous editions. The tournament will consist of two phases before the knockouts, providing an opportunity for teams to showcase their skills and compete for a spot in the semi-finals.

Phase 1: Group Stage


The group stage will comprise 20 teams divided into four groups of five each. The top two teams from each group will advance to the next phase, known as the Super Eight. This phase will be a crucial step for teams to secure their place in the semi-finals.

Phase 2: Super Eight

In the Super Eight phase, the remaining teams will be split into two groups of four. Each team will face the other teams in their group, and the top two from each group will progress to the semi-finals. This phase is where the competition intensifies, as teams fight for a chance to lift the coveted T20 World Cup trophy.


Qualified Teams: Hosts and Top Performers

Hosts: West Indies and USA

The West Indies and the USA have already secured their spots in the 2024 T20 World Cup as hosts. This will be a groundbreaking moment for the USA, as they will be hosting their first-ever global cricket event. The home advantage will surely boost their motivation to make a mark in the tournament.


Top Performers from the 2022 Edition

The performances at the previous edition of the T20 World Cup, held in 2022, played a significant role in determining the qualified teams for the 2024 edition. The top eight teams from the 2022 tournament earned direct qualification for the upcoming event. Let's take a look at the teams that secured their spots based on their performance:


New Zealand
South Africa
Sri Lanka




Next Best Teams on T20I Rankings

Apart from the top eight teams from the 2022 edition, the next two spots were awarded based on the MRF Tyres ICC Men's T20I Team Rankings as of November 14. Afghanistan and Bangladesh secured their places in the 2024 T20 World Cup as the next best teams on the rankings.

Regional Qualifiers: Determining the Final Spots


The final eight spots for the 2024 T20 World Cup will be decided through regional qualifiers. This new approach adds an exciting layer of competition, as teams battle it out in their respective regions to secure a place in the prestigious tournament.

Africa: Two Qualifying Spots

Africa will have two qualification spots for the 2024 T20 World Cup. While South Africa earned automatic qualification through their top-eight finish in the previous edition, Zimbabwe couldn't capitalize on their strong start and finished last in the Super 12 group. Both teams will now have to go through the regional qualification process to secure their spots. However, Uganda, known as the Cricket Cranes, has shown promise in recent matches, and they could potentially challenge the established teams in the region.

Americas: One Qualifying Spot

The Americas region will have one qualifying spot, with Canada as the early favorites to secure it. Despite their disappointment in the A Qualifier for the 2022 tournament, Canada has the potential to claim the spot, especially given their strong performance against the USA in the past. Bermuda, a fellow competitor at the 2019 Global Qualifier, is expected to provide tough competition for the spot.

Asia: Two Qualifying Spots

The Asia region is known for its competitiveness and unpredictability, making it challenging to predict the two teams that will qualify for the 2024 T20 World Cup. UAE, Nepal, and Oman are the frontrunners, but teams like Singapore, Hong Kong, Bahrain, Qatar, and Malaysia have the ability to upset the established teams. UAE had the opportunity to secure automatic qualification in the 2022 event but failed to progress to the Super 12 stage. This region will undoubtedly witness intense battles as teams vie for their place in the tournament.

East Asia-Pacific: One Qualifying Spot

Papua New Guinea, one of the standout teams in the 2021 T20 World Cup, has already secured an automatic spot as the top team in the East Asia-Pacific region. Vanuatu, winners of the Sub-Regional A Qualifier, are expected to pose a challenge to the Barramundis. The Philippines, buoyed by their appearance at the Global Qualifier A for the 2022 tournament, will also be a team to watch out for in the regional qualifiers.

Europe: Two Qualifying Spots

Europe is set to witness a thrilling competition among its teams to secure two qualifying spots for the 2024 T20 World Cup. Netherlands, after their impressive performance in the 2022 edition, have already booked their place. This success opens up opportunities for the other teams in the region. Jersey and Germany are seen as potential threats to the established teams like Scotland and Ireland. Additionally, Italy, Austria, and Denmark, winners of their respective Sub-Regional groups, have talented players who can make a significant impact in the regional qualifiers.


The 2024 edition of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup promises to be a thrilling and historic event. With a new format and more teams, the tournament will provide fresh match-ups and memorable moments. The qualified teams, including the hosts West Indies and USA, along with the top performers from the 2022 edition, will showcase their skills and compete for the ultimate prize. The regional qualifiers will add an extra level of excitement as teams from Africa, Americas, Asia, East Asia-Pacific, and Europe battle it out for the remaining spots. Cricket fans around the world eagerly await the 2024 T20 World Cup, where the best teams will fight for glory on the global stage.

Latest Stories