ICC T20 Player of the Year 2023: Celebrating the Best in T20 Cricket

The ICC T20 Player of the Year 2023 is an annual award that celebrates the outstanding performance of a player in T20 cricket. Discover who won the prestigious title and their remarkable achievements in the world of T20 cricket.

By Mystic Vivan
New Update
ICC T20 Player of the Year 2023

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has recently announced the nominees for the ICC Awards 2023 in the T20 format, recognizing the outstanding performances of cricketers in the calendar year. The prestigious ICC T20 Player of the Year award is highly anticipated, as it honors the player who has made the most significant impact in T20 international cricket.


Suryakumar Yadav: A Stellar Year in T20Is

One of the standout performers in the T20 format during 2023, Suryakumar Yadav from India has been nominated for the ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year award. Yadav, who clinched the same award in 2022, aims to secure back-to-back victories in this category. The Indian batting dynamo had an exceptional year, amassing 733 runs in 17 innings at an impressive average of 48.86 and a blistering strike rate of 155.95. His tally includes two centuries and five half-centuries, showcasing his ability to consistently contribute with the bat.

Yadav's impact extended beyond his batting prowess. He took up the captaincy of the Indian men's cricket team for the five-match T20 series against Australia in December, guiding his team to a resounding 4-1 victory. His leadership skills and ability to inspire his teammates were on full display during his captaincy debut.


Sikandar Raza: Zimbabwe's Tenacious Performer

Another contender for the ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year award is Zimbabwe's Sikandar Raza. Having been nominated last year as well, Raza has consistently been a prominent figure in Zimbabwean cricket. His all-round skills have made him a valuable asset to the national team. Raza's performances in the T20 format have been exceptional, and his inclusion among the nominees is a testament to his consistent performances.

Alpesh Ramjani: Uganda's Rising Star


Ugandan sensation Alpesh Ramjani has caught the attention of cricket enthusiasts around the world with his remarkable performances in T20 cricket. His inclusion as a nominee for the ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year award reflects his growing stature in the game. Ramjani's exploits with the bat have been awe-inspiring, and his contributions have played a significant role in Uganda's success in the T20 format.

Mark Chapman: New Zealand's Dependable Batsman

New Zealand batter Mark Chapman completes the list of nominees for the ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year award. Chapman's consistent performances with the bat have been crucial for New Zealand in the T20 format. His ability to anchor the innings and accelerate when required has made him a dependable player in the team. Chapman's nomination is a testament to his contributions and his impact on New Zealand's success in T20 cricket.


Yashasvi Jaiswal: Emerging Talent to Watch

While the ICC T20 Player of the Year award recognizes the established stars of the game, the ICC Men's Emerging T20I Cricketer of the Year award celebrates the rising talents. Yashasvi Jaiswal, a promising 22-year-old from India, has been shortlisted for this prestigious award. Jaiswal's rapid rise in international cricket has been nothing short of remarkable.

Jaiswal made his Test debut for India against West Indies in 2023 and immediately left a lasting impact, scoring a century on his maiden cap. His ability to adapt to different formats has been evident in his performances in T20Is as well. Since his T20I debut in August last year, Jaiswal has amassed an impressive 430 runs in 15 matches. His contributions were instrumental in India's gold medal victory at the 2023 Asian Games, where he also scored a century against Nepal in the quarter-finals.


Dilshan Madushanka: Sri Lanka's Budding Star

Sri Lanka's Dilshan Madushanka finds himself among the nominees for the ICC Men's Emerging T20I Cricketer of the Year award. Madushanka's talent and potential have been recognized by the cricketing community, and his inclusion in this prestigious list is a testament to his performances in the T20 format. The emergence of Madushanka bodes well for Sri Lanka's future in T20 cricket.

Gerald Coetzee: South Africa's Exciting Prospect


South Africa's Gerald Coetzee, a promising young talent, has also been shortlisted for the ICC Men's Emerging T20I Cricketer of the Year award. Coetzee's performances in domestic cricket have caught the attention of selectors, leading to his inclusion in the national team. His ability to consistently deliver impactful performances makes him a player to watch out for in the T20 format.

Rachin Ravindra: New Zealand's Rising Star

Rachin Ravindra, a young batting sensation from New Zealand, completes the list of nominees for the ICC Men's Emerging T20I Cricketer of the Year award. Ravindra's performances in domestic and international cricket have been impressive, showcasing his immense potential as a top-order batsman. His ability to score runs at a brisk pace and contribute with the ball makes him a valuable asset for New Zealand.


The nominees for the ICC T20 Player of the Year 2023 and ICC Men's Emerging T20I Cricketer of the Year awards represent the best in T20 cricket. From established stars like Suryakumar Yadav and Mark Chapman to rising talents like Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rachin Ravindra, these players have made significant contributions to their respective teams in the T20 format. As the cricketing world eagerly awaits the announcement of the winners, it is a moment of celebration for these exceptional cricketers who have enthralled fans with their performances on the international stage.

Latest Stories