Advertisment

Why England Lost 1 Run in 1st Test vs India: Unraveling the Umpire's Decision

In Hyderabad, England lost a run due to an overthrow, revealing ICC's MCC Rule 19.8. Similar to the 2019 World Cup, clarity and consistency in cricket decisions emerged as crucial.

author-image
By Abhinav Chauhan
New Update
IND

In the thrilling first Test between India and England in Hyderabad, a major confusion stirred on Day 1 when Rehan Ahmed found a run deducted from his total. Despite seemingly earning six runs after an overthrow from an Indian fielder, only five runs were credited. This unexpected turn left both stadium spectators and social media followers befuddled. The twist in the tale was not a mistake but rather a consequence of a specific rule enforced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in such scenarios.

Advertisment

The Play-by-Play: Bumrah's Full Toss and Rehan's Flick 

The incident unfolded when India's Jasprit Bumrah delivered a full toss on the pads, and Rehan expertly flicked it behind square on the on-side. The ensuing throw from the fielder was wide, surpassing the backup fielder and reaching the boundary. Initially, six runs were awarded, but the umpire reversed the decision, explaining that only five runs would be given. The reason behind this ruling was that the two batters had not crossed each other when the throw left the hand of the fielder.

Echoes of the Past: A Similar World Cup Final Controversy

Advertisment

This incident drew attention to a rule that gained prominence after a similar occurrence in the 2019 ODI World Cup final between England and New Zealand. In that case, England was awarded six runs instead of five, even though the batters hadn't crossed each other. The rule in question is MCC rule 19.8, which addresses overthrows or the wilful acts of fielders.

Decoding the Rulebook: MCC Rule 19.8 Unveiled

MCC rule 19.8 stipulates that if a boundary results from an overthrow or the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored include any penalties awarded to either side, the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batters. Additionally, the run in progress is considered if the batters had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act. This nuanced rule ensures fair play and consistent decision-making in situations involving overthrows.

Advertisment

Harsha Bhogle's Commentary: Insights and Reminders

During the incident on Day 1, cricket commentator Harsha Bhogle provided on-air commentary, elucidating the matter for viewers. He also took the opportunity to remind former England captain Eoin Morgan about the contrasting scenario in the 2019 ODI World Cup. The incident in Hyderabad not only showcased the implementation of cricket rules but also underlined the importance of clarity and consistency in umpiring decisions.

By breaking down this intriguing cricket scenario and exploring the underlying rule, fans can gain a deeper understanding of the intricacies that contribute to the excitement and drama of the sport. Cricket, with its blend of skill, strategy, and rules, continues to captivate audiences worldwide, leaving room for surprises and controversies that add to the charm of the game.

Advertisment
Advertisment
Latest Stories
Advertisment