BBL 2023-24: Most Runs, Most Wickets, and Points Table

Stay updated with the latest statistics and standings of the BBL 2023-24 Season. Check out the leaders in most runs and most wickets, as well as the points table for all participating teams. Don't miss a moment of the action

New Update
BBL 2023-24 Season

The 2023-24 Big Bash League (BBL) season was full of thrilling cricketing action, with the Brisbane Heat emerging as the champions. In this article, we will dive deep into the statistics of the season, exploring the top performers, key moments, and interesting facts that unfolded on the field. From the standout batsmen and bowlers to the highest partnerships and memorable innings, let's decode the numbers that defined the 2023-24 BBL season.


Brisbane Heat Clinch Their Second BBL Title

The Brisbane Heat showcased their dominance in the 2023-24 BBL season by clinching their second BBL title. Their previous triumph came in the 2012-13 season, making them the third team to win two or more BBL titles. The Perth Scorchers lead the pack with five titles, followed by the Sydney Sixers with three. The Heat's victory over the Sixers in the final was a testament to their remarkable performance throughout the season.

Top Run-Scorers in BBL 2023-24


Matthew Short of the Adelaide Strikers emerged as the leading run-scorer in the 2023-24 BBL season. Short's consistent performances earned him a total of 541 runs at an astonishing average of 60.11. His ability to score six fifties showcased his prowess with the bat. In the final, it was Josh Brown from the Brisbane Heat who stole the show with a crucial knock of 53 runs from 38 balls. Brown ended the season as the second-highest run-scorer with 366 runs at an impressive average of 40.66. Aaron Hardie of the Perth Scorchers secured the third position with 334 runs to his name.

Position Player Team Runs
1 Matthew Short Adelaide Strikers 509
2 Aaron Hardie Perth Scorchers 328
3 Chris Lynn Adelaide Strikers 304
4 Laurie Evans Perth Scorchers 292
5 Beau Webster Melbourne Stars 262

Leading Wicket-Takers in BBL 2023-24


The Brisbane Heat's Xavier Colin Bartlett and Spencer Johnson reigned supreme as the top wicket-takers of the 2023-24 BBL season. Bartlett, with his consistent performances, claimed an impressive tally of 20 wickets at an average of 14.70. Johnson, who delivered a stellar performance in the final, ended the season with 19 wickets at an average of 14.47. Ben Dwarshuis of the Sydney Sixers and Paul Walter of the Brisbane Heat also made their mark with 17 wickets each.

Position Player Team Wickets
1 Xavier Bartlett Brisbane Heat 16
2 Jamie Overton Adelaide Strikers 16
3 Jason Behrendorff Perth Scorchers 15
4 Lance Morris Perth Scorchers 13
5 Paul Walter Brisbane Heat 12

BBL 2023-24 Points Table


The points table reflects the overall performance and standing of each team in the BBL 2023-24 season. At present, the Brisbane Heat holds the top spot with an impressive record of seven wins from ten matches. The Sydney Thunder closely follows in second place with six wins to their name. Let's take a look at the current standings of all the teams:

Position Team Matches Played Wins Losses Points
1 Brisbane Heat 10 7 3 14
2 Sydney Thunder 10 6 4 12
3 Adelaide Strikers 10 5 5 10
4 Perth Scorchers 10 4 6 8
5 Melbourne Renegades 10 3 6 7
6 Melbourne Stars 10 2 7 4

Standout Innings and Top Bowling Performances


Josh Brown's remarkable century against the Adelaide Strikers was the standout innings of the 2023-24 BBL season. His blistering knock of 140 runs from just 57 balls left the opposition in awe. Matthew Short stood out with the most fifty-plus scores, accumulating six half-centuries throughout the season. When it came to hitting sixes, both Brown and Short showcased their power-hitting abilities, with 23 and 25 sixes respectively. David Payne of the Adelaide Strikers recorded the best strike rate of the season, scoring at a remarkable rate of 205.88.

In terms of bowling performances, Ben Dwarshuis, Lance Morris, and Daniel Sams were the only bowlers to achieve a five-wicket haul in the 2023-24 BBL season. Dwarshuis' figures of 5/21 were particularly noteworthy. Lloyd Pope of the Adelaide Strikers and Daniel Sams of the Brisbane Heat stood out with their four-wicket hauls in multiple matches. James Bazley of the Adelaide Strikers, unfortunately, conceded the most runs in an innings, giving away 57 runs in just three overs against the Perth Scorchers.

Memorable Partnerships and Fielding Feats


The highest partnership of the season was formed by Aaron Hardie and Zak Crawley of the Perth Scorchers. Their remarkable 157-run stand for the second wicket against the Hobart Hurricanes showcased their brilliant batting prowess. On the field, Michael Neser of the Brisbane Heat shone as the best catcher, taking an impressive 11 catches throughout the season. His safe pair of hands played a crucial role in the Heat's success.

Interesting Facts and Records

Aside from the individual performances, the Brisbane Heat also set a couple of team records in the 2023-24 BBL season. They posted the two highest scores of the season, amassing 214/3 against the Melbourne Stars and 214/7 against the Adelaide Strikers. On the other hand, Ben Dwarshuis of the Sydney Sixers endured a few tough innings, recording the most number of ducks in the season with three.

As the curtains fell on the 2023-24 BBL season, the Brisbane Heat emerged as deserving champions, displaying their cricketing prowess with both bat and ball. The season was filled with exceptional performances, remarkable partnerships, and nail-biting moments that kept fans on the edge of their seats. The statistics speak for themselves, highlighting the incredible skills and talent showcased by the players throughout the season.

Latest Stories