Advertisment

Super Over Rules Explained: What Happens if the Second Super Over Ends in a Tie?

Super Over rules are used to determine the winner in tied limited-overs cricket matches. But what happens if the second Super Over also ends in a tie? Find out the intricate details of this rare scenario and how it is resolved.

author-image
By Crickified
New Update
IND

India won 3rd T20I in 2nd Super Over against Afghanistan and clinched the series with 3-0 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

In a recent cricket match between India and Afghanistan, something extraordinary happened. The match required not one, but two 'Super Overs' to decide the winner. This rare occurrence has sparked a lot of interest and raised questions about the rules surrounding Super Overs. In this article, we will delve into the intricacies of Super Over rules and shed light on what happens if the second Super Over also ends in a tie.


What is a Super Over?

Before we dive into the details, let's first understand what a Super Over is. A Super Over is a tiebreaker used to determine the winner of a cricket match when the scores of both teams are level after the regular 20-overs-a-side match. It is a thrilling one-over contest where each team gets to bat for one over, consisting of six balls. The team that scores the most runs in the Super Over is declared the winner.

 

Also Read Super Over in Cricket: All You Need to Know


Rare Occurrence: Two Super Overs

The match between India and Afghanistan witnessed a rare occurrence where two Super Overs were required to determine the winner. The regulation 20-overs-a-side match and the first Super Over both ended in a tie, with both teams scoring 212 runs. This led to the need for a second Super Over to break the deadlock.


Can There Be a Third Super Over?

The answer to this intriguing question is yes. Until a winner is decided, Super Overs can continue to happen. In the case of the India vs Afghanistan match, if the second Super Over had also ended in a tie, a third Super Over would have been played to determine the ultimate winner. This ensures that there is a fair and decisive outcome to the match.


The Role of Bowlers in Super Overs

One of the fascinating aspects of Super Overs is the restrictions placed on bowlers. The rules state that a team is not allowed to use the same bowler in the second Super Over. This means that if a bowler has already bowled in the first Super Over, they cannot be selected to bowl in the second one. This rule ensures that teams have to strategize and use different bowlers to maintain a level playing field.


Afghanistan's Bowler Controversy

During the India vs Afghanistan match, there was a controversy surrounding Afghanistan's choice of bowler for the second Super Over. Afghanistan wanted to utilize Azmatullah Omarzai again, who had bowled in the first Super Over, but they were not allowed. The rules clearly state that the same bowler cannot be used in consecutive Super Overs. This decision caused some dissatisfaction, with Afghanistan coach Jonathan Trott expressing his displeasure.

 

Also Read India vs Afghanistan 3rd T20I Highlights


The Reason for Batting Switch in the Second Super Over

Another important rule to note is that the team that batted first in the initial Super Over will have to bat second in case another Super Over is required. This rule is applicable even for the batting turns in the regulation 20 overs. Therefore, if the match is tied and requires a Super Over, the team that batted first in the 20-over game will bat second in the Super Over tiebreaker.


Rules Regarding Same Batters in the Second Super Over

The rules regarding the selection of batters for the second Super Over are also worth mentioning. If a batter did not bat, did not get out, or had retired hurt in the first Super Over, they are allowed to be listed among the three batters for the second Super Over as well. However, if a batter was dismissed in the first Super Over, the rules do not allow their inclusion for a second go.


The Rohit Sharma Controversy

In the India vs Afghanistan match, there was some confusion surrounding the inclusion of Rohit Sharma in the second Super Over. It was believed that Rohit had 'retired out' in the first Super Over, which would have made him ineligible to bat again in the second one. However, it was later clarified that Rohit 'retired' so that a fresh batter, Rinku Singh, could replace him quickly. This incident sparked debates and discussions about the interpretation of the rules.


Also Read Rohit Sharma's Controversial Super Over during 3rd T20I against AFG: Legal or Not?


Conclusion

Super Overs are an exciting and nail-biting aspect of cricket. The recent match between India and Afghanistan, which required two Super Overs, has further heightened the interest in these tiebreakers. Understanding the rules surrounding Super Overs is crucial to appreciate the fairness and drama they bring to the game. As we have seen, until a winner is decided, Super Overs can continue to happen, providing a thrilling climax to closely contested matches.

Advertisment
Advertisment
Latest Stories
Advertisment