Unveiling the Thrilling Moments of KKR vs RCB in IPL 2023: A Complete Recap

The ninth match of IPL 2023 played between Kolkata knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. KKR defeated RCB by 81 runs.

By Crickified Mohit
New Update
Unveiling the Thrilling Moments of KKR vs RCB in IPL 2023: A Complete Recap

KKR vs RCB IPL 2023 9th Match at Eden Gardens, Kolkata

KKR 204/7 (20) (won by 81 runs)
RCB 123/10 (17.4) 


Summary of the Match:

  • RCB won the toss and opted to field
  • KKR won the match by 81 runs
  • Shardul Thakur was named as player of the match
  • KKR Varun Chakravarthy took 4 wickets
  • KKR Suyash Sharma took 3 wickets and Sunil Narine took 2 wickets
  • RCB David Wiley and Karn Sharma took two wickets each

KKR vs RCB Match Highlights
The ninth match of IPL 2023 played between Kolkata knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. RCB won the toss and opted to field first. KKR defeated RCB by 81 runs.

While batting first, KKR scored 204 runs in 20 overs by losing 7 wickets. In return RCB scored 123 runs in 17.4 overs by losing 10 wickets and lost to KKR by 81 runs. 

Rahmanullah Gurbaz as an opener flew off the innings. In the powerplay the team scored 47 runs by losing 2 wickets in form of Venkatesh Iyer and Mandeep Singh. Gurbaz returned to the pavilion after scoring 57 runs for 44 bowls.  


Shardul Thakur played in good partnership with Rinku Singh for 103 runs in 47 bowls. Thakur scored 68 runss including two sixers while Rinku Singh scored 46 runs before returning to the pavilion. Captain Nitish Rana was bowled out for 1 run.  

RCB’s David Wiley and Karn Sharma took 2-2 wickets each. 

Chasing 205 runs, RCB’s openers Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis flew off the innings. Till the 4th over they both added 42 runs to the Team score for 24 balls. By losing 2 wickets in the powerplay the Team score was 50 runs. 


KKR’s Varun Chakravarthy took 4 wickets, Suyash Sharma took 3 wickets and Sunil Narine took 2 wickets. 

Mandeep Singh recorded his 15th duck in his IPL career with today’s match. He stands in first place to score most zero run in IPL. Dinesh Karthik and Rohit Sharma are in the second position on the list with 14-14 zeroes.  

Brief History of KKR and RCB Teams
KKR was established in 2008 and is jointly owned by Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla, and her spouse Jay Mehta. They have won the IPL Title twice. On the other hand, RCB, which was also founded in the same year, has never won the IPL Title. United Spirits, a Diageo Group company, owns RCB, which was named after the company's liquor brand Royal Challenge.


Current Team Standings and Player Analysis
RCB's current captain for IPL 2023 is Faf du Plesis. The team comprises a balanced mix of seasoned and foreign players, such as Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, and Mohammed Siraj. In their first match of the season against Mumbai Indians, Bangalore emerged victorious. They successfully chased the target of 172 runs set by Mumbai, losing only two wickets. Faf du Plessis and Virat Kohli batted in a solid partnership, scoring 147 runs. Karn Sharma took two wickets for the Team.

Nitish Rana is leading the KKR team this season. Unfortunately, they lost their first match against Punjab Kings in a close competition. The match had to be stopped due to rain and Punjab Kings were declared the winner by Duckworth-Lewis Method. KKR scored 146 runs by losing 7 wickets in 16 overs while chasing a target of 192 runs. Tim Southee from KKR took two wickets in the last match. KKR has a strong squad with all-round capability of their players. Their pace bowling unit is impressive and will play a crucial role in their bowling innings.

Venue and Pitch Conditions for KKR vs RCB Game
The KKR vs RCB game is scheduled to happen at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. The pitch has a reputation for being batting-friendly, with an average first-inning score of 180 runs. Generally, teams that chase have a better chance of winning. 


KKR vs RCB Head-to-Head Record
The two teams, KKR and RCB, have faced each other 30 times in IPL. Out of these, KKR has emerged victorious in 16 matches while RCB has won 14 games. The history of these two teams is marked by rivalry, and in 2017, RCB scored its lowest total of just 49 runs against KKR.

Predictions and Expectations for KKR vs RCB
Both teams have been performing well this season, but based on historical data and home ground advantage, KKR is the favored team to win the match.

Playing XI's
KKR Playing XI: Nitish Rana (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Tim Southee, Varun Chakravarthy, Mandeep Singh, Lockie Ferguson

RCB Playing XI: Faf du Plessis (c), Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Michael Bracewell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Dinesh Karthik (wk), David Willey, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Karn Sharma,  Akashdeep

Latest Stories