Uncovering the Exciting Moments from RR vs PBKS in IPL 2023's 8th Match

The 8th match of IPL 2023 played between Rajasthan Royals vs Punjab Kings at Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati. PBKS won the match by 5 runs.

By Crickified
New Update
Uncovering the Exciting Moments from RR vs PBKS in IPL 2023's 8th Match

RR vs PBKS IPL 2023 8th Match at Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati

PBKS 197/4 (20) (won by 5 runs)
RR 192/7 (20)


Summary of the Match:

  • RR won the toss and opted to field
  • PBKS won the match by 5 runs
  • PBKS Nathan Ellis named as player of the match
  • PBKS Shikhar Dhawan scored 86 runs
  • RR’s Jason Holder took 2 wickets
  • PBKS Nathan Ellis took 4 wickets while Arshdeep Singh took 2 wickets

RR vs PBKS Match Highlights
The 8th match of IPL 2023 played between Rajasthan Royals vs Punjab Kings at Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati. RR won the toss and opted to field first. PBKS won the match by 5 runs. While batting first, PBKS scored 197 runs in 20 overs by losing 4 wickets. In return RR scored runs by losing 7 wickets and lost the match to PBKS by 5 runs.

The opening batsmen of PBKS gave an impressive performance during the powerplay. Captain Shikhar Dhawan and Prabhsimran Singh had a productive partnership, adding 63 runs in just 6 overs. They continued to work well together and contributed a total of 90 runs in 58 balls. Singh achieved a personal milestone by scoring his first half-century and was eventually bowled out for 60 runs in 34 balls. Dhawan then partnered with Jitesh Sharma, and they added 60 runs in just 30 balls. Dhawan played brilliantly and scored 86 runs in 56 balls before being dismissed. Sharma also played his part and scored 27 runs.

RR's Jason Holder has claimed two wickets while Trent Boult and Yuzvendra Chahal have taken one wicket each.


During the powerplay, RR lost three wickets while scoring 57 runs, chasing a target of 198 runs. Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, and Ravichandran Ashwin were the three batsmen who got dismissed. Despite missing out on a half-century, Captain Sanju Samson played an impressive knock of 42 runs off 25 balls, which included 4 boundaries and 1 six. Jos Buttler and Riyan Parag contributed 19 and 20 runs, respectively.

PBKS's Nathan Ellis successfully took 4 wickets, while Arshdeep Singh managed to take 2 wickets.  

Bhanuka Rajapaksa had to retire hurt during the match after sustaining an injury to his right hand from a shot by Dhawan.


Brief History of RR and PBKS Teams
Rajasthan Royals was founded back in 2008. Emerging Media IPL Ltd., led by Manoj Badale, is the team's owner. RR has had a successful track record so far, having won the first season of IPL and also finishing as the runner-up in 2022 against GT. PBKS, initially known as Kings XI Punjab, was established in 2008. The team is co-owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul. Despite their continuous efforts, PBKS has not yet won the IPL Title, but they did manage to secure the runner-up position in 2014.

Current Team Standings and Player Analysis
During the IPL 2023, the RR team, led by Sanju Samson, won their first match against SRH. The Royals secured a significant victory, defeating Sunrisers by a staggering 72 runs, with a high target of 203 runs. The team's batters performed exceptionally well, scoring such a massive target. Yuzvendra Chahal, the leg-spinner, exhibited remarkable bowling skills, claiming four wickets, while Trent Boult, the pacer, supported him by taking two wickets. The Royals' batting and bowling line-up appear robust and steady in the season, with the ability to score over 200 runs and the fast wicket-breaking ability of the spinners and pacers in the team.

Shikhar Dhawan leads PBKS to victory against KKR in their last match. PBKS scored 191 runs, losing only five wickets, which was impressive. Not only did the batters hit a decent target, but the bowlers also did a great job by cracking seven wickets of the rival team. Arshdeep Singh was able to take three wickets for his team. Unfortunately, the match was interrupted by rain and had to be decided using the Duckworth-Lewis Method, resulting in Punjab's win.


Venue and Pitch Conditions for RR vs PBKS Match
The RR and PBKS match will be held at Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati. The pitch at this stadium favors batters, so it's anticipated that there will be a high-scoring game. Nevertheless, spinners are likely to play a crucial role as the match progresses.

RR vs PBKS Head-to-Head Record
In the previous IPL seasons, Royals and Punjab have competed against each other on 25 occasions. Out of these, Royals emerged as winners in 14 matches, while Punjab won 11 times.

Predictions and Expectations for RR vs PBKS
Both teams have shown impressive performances in their recent matches this season, with each having a winning streak. The bowling line-up for both teams appears to be formidable, but the Royals have an advantage in batting and achieving high scores. It is predicted that the Royals will emerge victorious in their upcoming match against Punjab.

Playing XI's
RR Playing XI: Sanju Samson (c), Shimron Hetmyer, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Devdutt Padikkal, Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jason Holder, Jos Buttler, Trent Boult, Yuzvendra Chahal, KM Asif

PBKS Playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prabhsimran Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Shahrukh Khan, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sikandar Raza, Sam Curran, Harpreet Brar, Nathan Ellis,  Rahul Chahar,  Arshdeep Singh

Latest Stories