CSK vs LSG IPL 2023: A Thrilling Matchup That Will Leave You on the Edge of Your Seat!

The sixth match of IPL 2023 played between Chennai Super Kings vs Lucknow Super Giants at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai. CSK defeated LSG by 16 runs.

By Crickified
New Update
CSK vs LSG IPL 2023: A Thrilling Matchup That Will Leave You on the Edge of Your Seat!

CSK vs LSG IPL 2023 6th Match at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai

CSK 217/7 (20) (won by 12 runs)
LSG 205/7 (20) 


Summary of the Match:

  • LSG won the toss and opted to field
  • CSK won the match by 12 runs
  • Moeen Ali was declared player of the match
  • LSG Ravi Bishnoi and Mark Wood took three wickets each
  • CSK Moeen Ali took 4 wickets

CSK vs LSG Match Highlights
The sixth match of IPL 2023 played between Chennai Super Kings vs Lucknow Super Giants at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai. CSK defeated LSG by 12 runs.

LSG won the toss and opted to field first. While batting first, CSK scored 217 runs in 20 overs by losing 7 wickets. In return LSG scored 205 runs in 20 overs by losing 7 wickets ans lost to CSK by 16 runs.

Openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway showed an explosive start to the inning. In the powerplay they both took the Team score to 79 runs. It is the highest score ever at the chepauk stadium. Gaikwad and Conway played in a good partnership of 110 runs


Ruturaj scored his seasons second half century by scoring 57 runs including three boundaries and four sixers for 31 bowls. While Conway missed to score his half century and became out on the score of 47 runs. Shivam Dube and Ambati Rayudu scored 27-27 runs. In the last over of the game, Captain MS Dhoni hit two sixers on the bowl of Mark Wood.  

LSG’s Ravi Bishnoi and Mark Wood took 3-3 wickets each while Avesh Khan took 1. 

Chasing 218 runs, LSG scored 205 runs in 20 overs. Kyle Mayers scored half century with 53 runs. Nicolas Pooran scored 32 runs. Captain KL Rahul scored 20 runs before returning to the pavilion. 


CSK’s Moeen Ali took 4 wickets.

Brief History of CSK and LSG Teams
CSK, which is owned by India Cements Limited, was established in 2008. CSK has secured the IPL Title four times in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021, making it the second most successful team in IPL. On the other hand, LSG, owned by RP Sanjeev Goenka Group, was founded in 2021.

Current Team Standings and Player Analysis
As of IPL 2023, CSK is captained by MS Dhoni. The team already has a solid lineup with the likes of Ambati Rayudu and Moeen Ali, and they have also acquired the talented Ben Stokes for the upcoming season. Ben's impressive performance in the T20 World Cup proves that he is a valuable addition to the team, and his versatility as a top-order batter gives CSK the option to pair him with Ruturaj Gaikwad as an opener. In addition, CSK boasts of strong spinners such as Ravindra Jadeja, Mitchell Santner, and Maheesh Theekshana, which adds to their overall strength.


LSG is captained by KL Rahul. LSG's batting line-up, which includes K.L. Rahul, Quinton de Kock, Ayush Badoni, Marcus Stoinis, Krunal Pandya, and Deepak Hooda, is considered the strongest among all teams. Additionally, the team's all-rounder combination is top-notch, and they have strong backup players such as Sams, Romario Shepherd, and Prerak Mankad. The young Indian talents in the team add to its strength.

Venue and Pitch Conditions for CSK vs LSG Game
CSK vs LSG match will take place at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai. The batters have been performing well on the pitch, leading to some high scores this season. Additionally, the spin bowlers have been getting some support from the pitch. All in all, the Chidambaram pitch seems to be balanced for both batting and bowling.

CSK vs LSG Head-to-Head Record
Last season, the two teams played against each other in a single match, where LSG emerged as the winner.


Predictions and Expectations for CSK vs LSG
Although in the last season LSG won the match played against CSK, but it is also observed that the spin bowlers of CSK exhibit a distinct playing style on their home turf and their performance may prove to be crucial in determining the final result of the game on the spin-friendly pitch. On the basis of these stats there are high chances that CSK will win the upcoming match.

Playing XI's
CSK Playing XI: MS Dhoni (c) (wk), Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Mitchell Santner, Rajvardhan Hangargekar.

LSG Playing XI: KL Rahul (c), Deepak Hooda, Kyle Mayers, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Krunal Pandya, Ravi Bishnoi, Mark Wood, Avesh Khan, Yash Thakur, Krishnappa Gowtham

Latest Stories