IPL 2023: A Thrilling Showdown between PKBS and KKR in the 2nd Match of the Season

The second match of IPL 2023 season was played between PBKS vs KKR. Punjab Kings defeated Kolkata Knight Riders in the first double header match today by 7 runs.

By Crickified
New Update
IPL 2023: A Thrilling Showdown between PKBS and KKR in the 2nd Match of the Season

PKBS and KKR IPL 2023 2nd Match at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali

PBKS 191/5 (20) (won the match by 7 runs following DLS Method) 
KKR 146/7 (16)


Summary of the Match:

  • KKR won the toss and opted to field
  • PBKS won the match by 7 runs
  • PBKS Arshdeep Singh was declared player of the match
  • KKR Tim Southee took two wickets
  • PBKS Arshdeep Singh took 3 wickets

PBKS vs KKR Match Highlights 
The second match of IPL 2023 season played between Punjab Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali. The match hindered due to rain was in the name of Punjab Kings following the Duckworth-Lewis method.

KKR won the toss and opted to field first. While batting first PBKS scored 191 runs in 20 overs by losing 5 wickets. In return, in the 16 overs KKR scored 146 runs by losing 7 wickets, but due to rain in between the match was concluded following DLS method. 

PBKS Opener Prabhsimran Singh flew off the innings and scored 23 runs for 12 bowls. Captain Shikhar Dhawan and Bhanuka Rajapaksa played in the good partnership of 86 runs for 55 bowls. Rajapaksa scored his first half century including five boundaries and two sixers. In the middle order Jitesh Sharma scored 26 runs and Sam Curran scored an unbeaten 26 runs.


KKR’s Tim Southee took two wickets while Umesh Yadav, Sunil Narine and Varun Chakaravarthy took 1-1 wickets each.

Chasing 192 runs, KKR no player could play the big inning. In the starting 6 overs, Team could score 46 runs by losing 3 wickets. Andre Russell scored 35 runs for 19 bowls, Venkatesh Iyer scored 34 runs for 28 bowls. Captain Nitish Rana added 24 runs to the Team score.

PBKS Arshdeep Singh took 3 wickets while Nathan, Rahul Chahar, Sikandar and Curran took 1-1 wickets each.


What is Duckworth-Lewis Method? 
The Duckworth–Lewis–Stern method (DLS) is a mathematical formulation designed to calculate the target score (number of runs needed to win) for the team batting second in a limited overs cricket match interrupted by weather or other circumstances. The method was devised by two English statisticians, Frank Duckworth and Tony Lewis and was formerly known as the Duckworth–Lewis method (D/L). It was introduced in 1997 and adopted officially by the ICC in 1999.  

Brief History of PBKS and KKR Teams
The Punjab Kings cricket team was established in 2008 and previously known as Kings XI Punjab. The team is co-owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul. To date, the team has not won an IPL title, but they were the runners-up in 2014. On the other hand, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) was also founded in 2008 and is owned by Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan, along with actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta. KKR has won the IPL championship twice, in 2012 and 2014, and finished as runners-up in 2021.

Current Team Standings and Player Analysis
PBKS, the Punjab Kings, have appointed Shikhar Dhawan as their captain for IPL 2023. Their decision to include Dhawan and Kagiso Rabada in the team has proven to be wise. However, they had to find a new opening pair as KL Rahul moved to another team. PBKS' biggest advantage is their strong batting lineup, which includes big hitters like Bairstow, Livingstone, Shahrukh Khan, and Jitesh Sharma, who all have impressive strike rates. Moreover, the domestic players in the team are also performing well, which further strengthens the team's overall performance.


KKR is led by Nitish Rana, and their remarkable strength lies in their all-round ability as a team. As a result, KKR has almost completely revamped their team for IPL 2023. Opener Gurbaz has been in excellent form and has the potential to perform wonders. Iyer, who has gained sufficient international experience, can accompany Rana in good form.

Venue and Pitch Conditions for PBKS vs KKR Game
Mohali hosted an IPL match in 2019 and is now hosting another one. The pitch is favourable to fast bowlers during the initial overs.

PBKS vs KKR Head-to-Head Record 
The two teams have played against each other in 30 matches. Out of these, KKR has won 20 matches and PBKS has won 10 matches.


Predictions and Expectations for PBKS vs KKR
Based on the past records, KKR has generally dominated over PBKS in most of their matches. However, the upcoming match can be influenced by the home ground advantage and strategic picks made by PBKS for Dhawan and Rabada. It is difficult to predict the outcome of the match between the two teams.

Playing XI's
PBKS Playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prabhsimran Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Shahrukh Khan, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sikandar Raza, Sam Curran, Harpreet Brar, Nathan Ellis, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh

KKR Playing XI: Nitish Rana (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Tim Southee, Varun Chakravarthy, Mandeep Singh, Lockie Ferguson

Latest Stories