User Management
Contact Information

605, SGH, Vaishali Nagar,
Jaipur, Rajasthan - 302021

We're Available 24/ 7. Call Now.

The Border – Gavaskar Trophy is a Test Series which is played between India and Australia every two years. As of January 2021, India holds the Trophy after winning the Test Series played in 2020-21. If a series is a draw, the country which is holding the Trophy already from the last series won, retains it.

border-gavaskar trophy

The series is named after the name of Best Test Series Batsman’s and former Captains Australia’s Allan Border and India’s Sunil Gavaskar. Both the batsman’s have scored 10000 plus runs in the Test Series.

The first Test Series match between India and Australia was played in 1947-48. It was the first match played after Indian Independence when Indian Cricket Team flown to Australia. It was a 5 match Test Series where India defeated and Australia won the series by 4-1.

After 10 years of the 1947-48 series happened, it was 1956-57 when Australia came to Indian land to play the Test Series. It was a 3 match Test Series. Unfortunately, in this series also Indian Team had to face the failure as Australia won the series by 2-1.

border-gavaskar trophy

After this, every two years till 1991-92 this Test Series between India – Australia continued to happen where Australia’s was having weightage over India.

Border – Gavaskar Series Test match was first played in 1996-97 was played on the India land during 10th-13th October at Feroz Shah Kotla Ground, Delhi. It was only one match Test Series where India defeated Australia and registered their winning in the history. The match was played under the captaincy of Sachin TendulkarNayan Mongia secured the Man of the Match award by securing 152 runs in 1st innings.

border-gavaskar trophy

Record of the Matches played between India and Australia till 1991-92
Series played in India

  • Series Played – 14
  • Won by India - 8
  • Won by Australia - 4
  • Series Drawn - 2

Series played in Australia

  • Series Played – 12
  • Won by Australia - 8
  • Won by India - 1
  • Series Drawn - 3

Total Series Played - 26

  • Won by India - 9
  • Won by Australia - 12
  • Series Drawn - 5

Record of Border – Gavaskar Series till 2020-21

  • Series Played - 14
  • Won by India - 8
  • Won by Australia - 5
  • Series Drawn - 1

In competition for the trophy since 1996, Indian Sachin Tendulkar has been the most successful batsman, scoring 3262 runs from 65 innings. Indian bowler Anil Kumble is the most successful bowler, taking 111 wickets over 20 matches.

border-gavaskar trophy

The first Test Series match is going to be played at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur on February 9th February 2023 under the Captaincy of Rohit Sharma.


TheFrames Team

TheFrames Team has versatile authors to write articles on any topic. They are continuously putting their efforts to put various Series on the website. They put 3-4 articles under each series.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *